City of El Paso Texas Seal Back to City of El Paso »
Duties:  The Museums and Cultural Affairs Advisory Board is established to advise the department on matters pertaining to, but not limited, to the cultural funding program, public art programming, and other departmental matters, as determined by the Director; shall make recommendations to City Council on policies and decisions regarding collection management for each of the City of El Paso Museums and shall annually assign a member to each of the City of El Paso Museums who will work with the Director or a designee of the Museums and Cultural Affairs Department on a quarterly basis regarding these matters.
Qualifications:  Each member shall be appointed based upon their professional competence and experience in the arts and culture and may include concerned members of the public. 1)At least two-thirds of the board members appointed by the City Council will be required to demonstrate an interest, knowledge of, or experience in the following areas and professional fields: performing arts, visual arts, media or literary arts, arts education, architecture or landscape architecture, visitor industry, community nonprofit sector (non-arts), marketing and public relations and organizational or strategic planning. At least two of these persons shall demonstrate experience, education, or expertise in archaeology, and at least two of these persons shall demonstrate experience, education or expertise in history. Such persons shall submit a written statement to the City Manager or her/his designee detailing the requisite interest, knowledge or experience. 2)Individuals appointed pursuant to subsection 1 above may be artists, business owners, professional consultants, architects, design professionals and other professionals. 3)To avoid possible conflicts of interest in administering the mission of the department and the distribution of funds by or through the department, a nominee for appointment to the board shall not be an officer or board member of any local organization that is receiving or applying for city funding. Members of the board shall not hold any public offices or honor, trust or profit in the government of the city or county during their term of office. Members shall receive no compensation and shall have advisory powers only.
Seats:  18 members; 2 members nominated by each District Representative and the Mayor. Members will serve staggered terms that will coincide with their appointing City Council Member. See Ordinance 017424
Term:  Initial terms nominated by the Mayor and Districts 2,3,4 and 7 shall run October 1, 2010 through October 1, 2013; Districts 1,5,6 and 8 shall run October 1, 2010 through October 1, 2011.Thereafter all terms shall be four years.
Term Limits: Two term limit
Contact:  Diana Cepeda
Contact Office: Museums & Cultural Affairs
Contact Email:
Contact Phone:  915-212-1771
Meeting times:  4:00 p.m. on the third Thursday of each month, with the exception of January and July as per Ordinance 017424.

Enabling Ordinance(s)/Resolution(s):   017424  

Meeting Agendas    Meeting Minutes

 MEMBER LIST (Reflects City appointments only)

Date Appointed

Date Expires Appointed By Type
Adame Anderson, Rachel 10/16/2018 10/1/2023 District 8 R
Diaz, Alfredo 5/29/2018 10/1/2021 District 4 R
Edens, Gary 4/13/2021 10/1/2021 Mayor R
Giangiulio, Anne M. 8/8/2017 10/1/2021 District 2 R
Glenn, Lucio 1/5/2021 10/1/2021 District 3 R
Gorski, Kenneth 6/3/2014 10/1/2021 District 7 R
Harris, Jeffry A. 10/17/2017 10/1/2021 District 7 R
Herrera, David 6/12/2018 10/1/2023 District 1 R
Jaquez, Laura 11/14/2017 10/1/2021 Mayor R
Leffler, Beth 10/29/2019 10/1/2023 District 8 R
Leon, Vanessa 10/3/2017 10/1/2021 District 4 R
Loweree III, Carlos A. 7/9/2019 10/1/2021 District 3 R
Marshall, Adam 9/19/2017 10/1/2023 District 1 R
Nino, Ivan 3/17/2020 10/1/2023 District 5 R
Schmid-Falcon, Stephanie 10/15/2019 10/1/2023 District 6 R
Valdez, Daniel R. 2/16/2021 10/1/2023 District 5 R
Valdez, Laura 8/7/2018 10/1/2021 District 2 R
Winters, Darby S. 5/25/2021 10/1/2023 District 6 R