City of El Paso Texas Seal Back to City of El Paso »
Duties:  A nine member advisory commission charged with making recommendations on the designation of historic landmarks and districts, and authority to grant certificates of appropriateness in compliance with historic guidelines.
Qualifications:  Members need to be resident of the City of El Paso. All members shall have demonstrated special interest, knowledge, and experience in the architectural, archaeological, cultural, social, economic, ethnic or political history of El Paso, and shall include two architects. No one business or professional interest shall constitute a majority membership of the HLC. To the extent available in the community, professionals from the disciplines of architecture, engineering, construction, history (such as urban planning, American studies, American civilization, cultural geography, or cultural anthropology), architectural history urban planning, archaeology, or other disciplines related to historic preservation shall be given preference for appointment for any membership positions.
Seats:  9 members: (1 per District and 1 by Mayor). See Ordinances: 6243, 6332, 6391, 9610, 10823, 11678, 13016, and 16369.Resolution:8-18-98
Term:  Two, 2 year terms.
Term Limits: Two term limit.
Contact:  Donna Martinez
Contact Office: Planning and Inspections
Contact Email:
Contact Phone:  212-1583
Meeting times:  4:00 p.m., every 1st and 3rd Monday, 2nd floor conference room at City Hall (Council Chambers). Meetings are on the following Tuesday if Monday is a holiday.

Enabling Ordinance(s)/Resolution(s):   6243   6332   6391   009610  
010823   011678   013016   016369   08-18-98

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

 MEMBER LIST (Reflects City appointments only)

Date Appointed

Date Expires Appointed By Type
Cioc-Ortega, Mark 7/9/2019 10/24/2020 District 3 R
Esper, Christopher 9/18/2018 10/28/2021 District 1 R
Hamilton, Vicki 8/8/2017 1/26/2020 District 2 R
Lopez, Ivan 10/30/2018 12/19/2020 District 7 R
Luciano, Don 9/20/2016 3/12/2020 District 5 R
Macias, Francisco 9/18/2018 8/9/2020 District 8 R
Mercer, Shane 3/19/2019 3/13/2021 Mayor R
Sevigny, Donald J. 10/18/2016 3/9/2021 District 6 R
Stapler, Charles 6/28/2016 10/4/2019 District 4 R